Crazy as a Loom

May 27, 2013 at 7:38 pm 11 comments

Lovin’ the loom.
It’s so cute.
And so cool.

I’ve given it a rubdown with lemon oil,
and I’ve already used up the warp it came with playing around this week.

Untitled

So that meant that if I wanted to keep on weaving, I was going to have to learn how to warp it!

Luckily, there are a ton of resources available online.
I joined a couple of weaving groups on Ravelry, and in one forum found a link to a really great video that really helped me to understand the process.

So this weekend I did it. Warped the loom for the first time!

First I had to scour the stash for some yarn that was up to the task.
Then I took to the warping board.

Following the procedure as described in the video, the steps were:

winding the warp,
2013-05-25 13.16.08
tying off the warp
2013-05-25 13.25.37
inserting lease sticks to hold the cross in the warp,and then
rough sleying the reed,
2013-05-25 14.43.40
beaming the warp,
2013-05-25 15.01.25
threading the warp through the heddles,
2013-05-26 14.42.41
sleying the reed, and
tying off the warp to the front apron rod.
2013-05-26 14.42.23
Didn’t get pictures of all the steps, but it seems to have turned out ok- and I am back in business, weaving with my handspun!
Untitled

Woo Hoo!

Entry filed under: Blog, Uncategorized.

The Sound of Inevitability First Fruit!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keith  |  May 27, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    You’re amazing!

    Reply
    • 2. sheepsclothing  |  June 2, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      No, just obsessed. Thanks, though! 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  May 27, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Very cool- you are a weaver! I had to take a class to figure it out.

    Reply
    • 4. sheepsclothing  |  June 2, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Taking a class is probably a good idea. But I was so anxious to get started that I just had to go for it. The video is almost like a mini-class. Gave me the courage to try.

      Reply
      • 5. Donna  |  June 2, 2013 at 9:02 pm

        I took my class at the Anacortes Senior Center from Vivian Mizuta and it was very helpful to me.

  • 6. Michelle  |  May 27, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    You just spoke competently in a foreign (to me) language and seemed to know what you were doing on the loom, too. Color me impressed!

    Reply
    • 7. sheepsclothing  |  June 2, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Thanks Michelle- I think I probably know just enough to get myself in all kinds of trouble!

      Reply
  • 8. Jody  |  May 29, 2013 at 7:11 am

    It looks complicated to me! Love what you are making with it though.

    Reply
  • 9. thecrazysheeplady  |  June 2, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Looks great!!!

    Reply
  • 10. basicallybenita  |  June 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Congratulations!! I love the black, gray and white you are weaving with and it will be such a great finished product – can I assume it is going to be a scarf?

    Reply
    • 11. sheepsclothing  |  June 2, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      Actually it’s too long to be one scarf, and not quite long enough to be two. I’ve got just under 9 feet of fabric about 7 inches wide. Will be a challenge to figure out what to do with it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a Wool blog.

Who? Denise

Where? Skagit County, Washington

Why: To share my spinning and knitting adventures with other wool loving folk.

Archives

RSS Download Kumpulan Lagu Barat Indonesia Terbaru 2015

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Fiber Prep


