Wake up- Time to Dye!

April 30, 2012 at 6:46 pm 7 comments

Sorry. Couldn’t resist the Bladerunner reference.

But really- that’s today’s story!

I don’t think I mentioned this earlier, but The Man got me an EarthHues dyeing kit for my birthday this year, and I’ve been really anxious to give it a go.
But first I needed a big pot. And a burner.

This weekend it finally all came together!
Here is the setup:

DSC_8755

And here is the yarn and fleece all snug in the pot with the alum solution getting mordanted:

DSC_8756

I left in in there overnight to cool out, then got a start with the actual dyeing this morning.

First up, Quebracho Red!

IMAG0480

Filling the pot-

IMAG0481

Dissolving the extract-

IMAG0482

And everything in the pot!

IMAG0483

the second pot was going to be just Pomegranate, but it seemed to me once it had been cooking a while that it was too khaki, and not enough yellow, so I added some Weld.

IMAG0489

IMAG0486

And here are the results-

IMAG0493

Or most of them anyway. I did some fleece too, but it is all jumbled and messy looking right now and didn’t want to be photographed until it made itself more presentable 😉

Pretty pretty pretty.

I think I’m hooked.

Next up- madder and indigo!

And, here is the mystery knitting project of the week(s)

IMAG0494

Anyone have an idea what it is?

IMAG0495
Because I’m not sure myself!

Entry filed under: Blog, Uncategorized.

Falling ever-so-slightly behind In the Pink

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bluff Country Shepherdess  |  April 30, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    How PRETTY! And I’m not even a ‘pink’ person! Makes me want to start dying some wool/yarn. As for the knitting ~ perhaps a shawl?

    Reply
    • 2. sheepsclothing  |  May 5, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      thanks- I’m not really a pink person either- I kind of expected it to turn out more of a coral-ish red, but I do like the shade.

      Reply
  • 3. basicallybenita  |  May 1, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Sweet pink!! Cochineal or Brazilwood?

    Reply
    • 4. sheepsclothing  |  May 5, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      nope. Quebracho. Its a tree that grows in Paraguay.

      Reply
  • 5. Keith  |  May 2, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Nice! You are soooo living my dream! I have some Earthues dye waiting to be used and am now inspired to give it whirl, once I have some spun yarn worthy of being dyed.

    Reply
  • 6. sheepsclothing  |  May 5, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    thanks Keith- you should totally give it a shot. Not too terribly complicated, but it does take some time. Love the results, though!

    Reply
  • 7. thecrazysheeplady  |  June 4, 2012 at 6:20 am

    That’s a perfect set up!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a Wool blog.

Who? Denise

Where? Skagit County, Washington

Why: To share my spinning and knitting adventures with other wool loving folk.

Archives

RSS Boulderneigh

RSS coldantlerfarm

RSS Download Kumpulan Lagu Barat Indonesia Terbaru 2015

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Fiber Prep


