My New Friend Pirtle

July 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm 4 comments

So the wheel has a name!

Thanks to the fine folks on Ravelry, I’ve come to know that he’s a Pirtle.

IMG_3052

So, he’s a 70’s-vintage guy, one of about 200 made by a retired Air Force engineer.
I’ve named him Hank.
Hank Pirtle.

And I’ve just combed up another batch of Frank/Felix to spin up all nice and bulky on him.

IMG_3053

In addition to getting a feel for Hanks irish tension system, I’ve managed to get a start on a another vest for John The Shepherd, of Marietta Shetlands:

IMG_3050

I took the cable motif from the Hand in Hand men’s cable vest pattern by Kathy Zimmerman. I think it’s working out nicely- it’s curvy, and large enough to stand out in the dark yarn, but still manly and subdued.

No outside photos this week. It’s July, but feels like October.
Ick.

No summer yet.

Entry filed under: Blog, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

New Developments Summer Sun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  July 17, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I’m a little confused about where you sit in orientation to the wheel to treadle. Maybe The Man would take a photo of you while spinning? I LIKE Irish tension (hence my Louet)!

    Reply
    • 2. sheepsclothing  |  July 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm

      ‘Spose I should have taken the photo from the angle that I sit in front of it to spin! Basically, when I spin on it, I sit almost perpendicular to the flyer, with the orifice off to the left. I treadle with my right foot, and draft backwards with my left hand. WiIl try to shoot a video for my next post

      Reply
  • 3. thecrazysheeplady  |  July 18, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Cool!

    Reply
  • 4. Jody van Dooijewaard  |  July 19, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Lucky you , no summer! We are experiencing heat waves with almost 40 degree celcius humidex values. I would prefer it to be cooler rather than hotter.
    Wow those white puffs of your Shetland look fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a Wool blog.

Who? Denise

Where? Skagit County, Washington

Why: To share my spinning and knitting adventures with other wool loving folk.

Archives

RSS Boulderneigh

RSS coldantlerfarm

RSS Download Kumpulan Lagu Barat Indonesia Terbaru 2015

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Fiber Prep


