The Fix is In

May 23, 2010 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

The fix for the Gradient Sweater, that is.

At least I think it is.

I’ve done a lot of thinking about it, and am fairly certain that what I need is some bust shaping
(And maybe some waist shaping,, but I’m going to wait on that one because it might involve sewing.)

I’ve never done short-row bust shaping on a sweater before, probably because most things I make aren’t very close-fitting, but this is roughly what I’m envisioning.

IMG_2318

The extra rows will being the color change down a bit, and the wedge-shape of the insert should help with how the sweater hangs in the front.

In order to make this happen, I’m going to have to open it up.
Sweater surgery.
I’ll snip a yarn near the underarm and unravel a row, work the short rows, and then graft it back together with the stitches on the top side of the incision.

Easy, right?

Maybe, but I’m not quite ready to jump into it yet,, so I’m engaged in some distraction knitting for the moment-

finishing socks:

IMG_2323

and starting slippers:

IMG_2321

And if anyone has experience with this kind of sweater mod, I’d really appreciate your suggestions!

Entry filed under: Blog, Uncategorized.

This just in…. Ta Da!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  May 23, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    No experience here but I wish you the best of luck and am in awe of your knitting skills!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  May 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    I echo Nancy!

    Reply
  • 3. Jody  |  May 24, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Those socks looks extremely warm and cosy like your beautiful sweater. I can’t help you with it….I have only made a few sweaters in my time.
    Luv those felted clogs though….I forgot to pick up my copy of that pattern when I was at the Knitter’s Frolic 😦

    Reply
  • 4. schoonoverfarm  |  May 24, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I have never had the nerve to cut any knitting I have done. So cannot help you, but if anyone can pull it off, you can! Love the warm comfy socks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a Wool blog.

Who? Denise

Where? Skagit County, Washington

Why: To share my spinning and knitting adventures with other wool loving folk.

Archives

RSS Boulderneigh

RSS Download Kumpulan Lagu Barat Indonesia Terbaru 2015

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Fiber Prep


