Spinning Wheels and Turning Heels

September 21, 2009 at 2:12 am 9 comments

I asked the folks on Ravelry if anyone had ever seen a wheel like the one I just bought last week- and someone referred me to the following video.

(My wheel makes her entrance at about 1:15)

So, it would seem that she’s more likely Serbian or Croatian in origin than Welsh,, though she certainly might have come through the UK on her way here.

Neat, eh?

(I’m still not decided on a name- gonna take another week to think about it, though I’m leaning towards Sophie.)

Yesterday, the man installed nylon bearings for her wheel (where there had previously been small pieces of cloth and axle grease). Big improvement. Wheel spins more freely now.

Wheel Bearing front

I think what we’re going to do next is redo the threads on the flyer shaft so that it can use Kromski whorls.  The current threads are a really odd size (no surprise there).

Here is the girl hanging out in the yard with the first two skeins of yarn that we’ve collaborated on.

IMG_1481 (Medium)

With her current ratio (approx 5:1), she does a really nice soft spun single.

IMG_1482 (Medium)

Anyone know of a woodworker that makes custom bobbins?

In other news, I’ve reworked the Zauberball socks through the heel. I was distracted for a bit trying out a different kind of heel shaping, but in the end, decided to stick with my usual style.

Zaubersocks 2nd try

And in honor of the lovely fall weather we’ve been having, I dyed some East Friesian wool and blended it with white alpaca. I’m calling it “Nothin’ but Blue Skies”.

Nothin but Blue Skies2

Have a good week!

Entry filed under: Blog, Uncategorized.

Minstrel’s Little Sister Weekend In Review

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jody van Dooijewaard  |  September 22, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Here’s a link that might be able to make you some bobbins.
    http://antique-spinning-wheels.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • 2. sheepsclothing  |  September 24, 2009 at 2:27 am

      Thanks for the link. I’ll definetely check it out!

      Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  September 22, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I’ll have to look on the Yahoo Spinning list I’m on, because there have been lots of referrals there to people who make bobbins. I think one of them might be just over the hill from me in Amity! Are you coming down for OFFF? If so, you could bring the bobbin and I could take it to him for matching….

    Reply
    • 4. sheepsclothing  |  September 24, 2009 at 2:34 am

      Man o man, do I wish I was coming down for OFFF! But I’m afraid it’s not gonna happen this year. Any idea how much custom bobbins might run?

      Reply
  • 5. Michelle  |  September 24, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Hi Denise,

    Here is the info about him right off the list; give him a call to see what he can do for you!

    “Give Ron Antoine a call – he makes bobbins and every other part for any kind
    of spinning wheel. He does incredible restorations and he is well known here
    in the Northwest. work for museums. He is our resident repair expert at the
    Antique Spinning Wheel Showcase we have each year at the Aurora Colony
    museum. 2007 was our 25th anniversary of the show. Here is the information
    right off of his business card:

    Spinning Wheels By Ron Antoine
    Designed and Crafted to Your Needs
    Traditional And Contemporary
    Restoration and Replacement Work
    Emphasis on Quality
    23205 Franquette Dr. SE
    Amity, OR 97101
    503-835-5312
    503-835-3054 fax

    He is a jewel of a human being and is my personal hero! I am a woodworker
    and have been making spindles for a couple of years now. I really want to
    learn how to do wood turning and Mr.. Antoine was kind enough to spend a
    good 30 – 45 minutes on the phone sharing with me wonderful, first – hand
    experience and advice on lathe work.”

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle  |  September 24, 2009 at 3:25 am

    P.S. Judging by that address he is just up the hill from me out here in the bountry, not even IN Amity!

    Reply
  • 7. adela  |  October 16, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Lovely to see your wheel – almost the same as mine!! My father was from Croatia, and when we went to visit in 1971, my Auntie Gizela gave us the spinning wheel which her Auntie had given her as a wedding present – that would have been about 1950ish. as it was quite old then I would put it about 80 years old now.I listened to the film and recognised some of the words but not being fluent I can’t say for sure if it was Croatian or Serbian. I recently had a price to repair it but I have decided to “retire”it and use it as a beautiful heirloom ornament. Glad you can use yours – my dad would have been really pleased to see mine working.

    Regards
    Adela

    Reply
  • 8. Chrissa  |  January 24, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Thank you for taking pictures of your wheel. I just bought one and am trying to figure out if it is in working order. (Can you tell I’m a newbie?) It doesn’t have a name nor did the people selling it to me knew nothing. I have figured out its a single drive and I think its bobbin fed but what I can’t get straightened out is why my flyer wont spin. I see on yours (from the beautiful picture of it sitting out under the tree in the grass) and it has a brake holding the bobbin and the drive belt over the flyer. This might be my problem! I appreciate you listing out the gentlemen here in Oregon that repairs old wheels. If i can’t figure this out.. I will be giving him a call.

    Reply
    • 9. sheepsclothing  |  January 27, 2014 at 8:36 pm

      Hi Chrissa-

      Congratulations on the wheel acquisition! I’d be happy to try to help you
      figure out how it needs to be set up to get it spinning- maybe you could
      send me some photos? If it needs some work, Ron Antoine is a good person to
      call. He did a great job making some bobbins to fit my antique wheel.

      Denise

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


This is a Wool blog.

Who? Denise

Where? Skagit County, Washington

Why: To share my spinning and knitting adventures with other wool loving folk.

Archives

RSS coldantlerfarm

RSS Download Kumpulan Lagu Barat Indonesia Terbaru 2015

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Fiber Prep


